Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Global | By Shelia Dennis

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

"A meeting of Congress Legislature Party was held and after consulting the MLAs, we have chose to vote for the BSP nominee", CLP leader Ajay Singh Lallu said. Stalwarts like former union minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Milind Deora and Rajiv Shukla were in race.

The stage is set for the Rajya Sabha elections.

Under the deal, her party would support the Congress candidate in the Rajya Sabha polls in Madhya Pradesh, if all its seven MLAs vote for the BSP's Rajya Sabha candidate in UP. "Our candidate (Farook) will win as many MLAs in BJP and Congress will vote for us". With its depleted strength of 47 MLAs in the UP Assembly, the SP can get only one member elected to Rajya Sabha.

Putin: Jews, Ukrainians 'with Russian citizenship' could be behind United States election meddling
How do you know? Putin also cast doubt on the chemical weapons attacks in Syria. Maybe it was the Americans who paid them for this work.

The former Shiv Sena chief minister subsequently formed his own party, the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh, and allied with the BJP-led NDA.

While, Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), Janta Dal (United) were the other parties who announced the names of the candidates for Rajya Sabha.

Patel's candidature comes as BSP announced its support for the Congress candidate from MP.

Pomona police officers shot
Video shows a wounded officer lying on the ground as other officers perform chest compressions on him. Neither of the officers have been identified and the original scene remained active Saturday morning.

All eight BJP candidates will grab the Rajya Sabha seat unopposed and there would be no need for the Rajya Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh.

The Congress has named Babu Prasad as the UDF opposition candidate from Kerala. Several leaders, including Mamata Banerjee, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi and former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren of the JMM have extended support to Rao's proposal, according to the TRS. So, the party opted to nominate Jaitley from Uttar Pradesh.

March 12 is the last day for filing nominations for the March 23 election to the Upper House of Parliament.

China trade deficit figure overestimated by about 20 pct: commerce minister
Trump said Thursday that he was slapping tariffs of 25 percent on imported steel and 10 percent on aluminum, temporarily exempting big steel producers Canada and Mexico.

Another candidate, Sakaldeep Rajbhar, a Ballia court stamp writer, is a significant choice, coming at a time when the BJP's ally Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party and its leader Om Prakash Rajbhar, who is part of the Yogi Adityanath cabinet, have been criticising the government. This despite the lobbying in New Delhi for former Lok Sabha Speaker, Meira Kumar, who also belongs to the same sub-sect, for this seat. In all, three seats from the state will fall vacant on April 2 with the retirement of incumbents K Chiranjeevi, Renuka Chowdary and T Devender Goud.

Like this: